That shirt is inappropriate for work!

Fiko

Fikowned
FC/Active Member
As some of you may know, I work at an inbound call center. I've been working here for about two years now. Pretty laid back job, despite the amount of rules they have. I just go with the flow, don't really get in trouble, I do what's expected of me. But this really irked me.

At my job, we have t-shirt Fridays.. I usually wear a plain old t-shirt.. nothing fancy.. no designs or pictures.. just a regular old t-shirt. Well, I just went to Otakon last weekend so decided to wear the t-shirt I bought there.

This is the back of it:

Otakon_09__T_Shirt_by_UdonCrew.jpg

Early that day I was talking to the human resources person, and he complimented me on it, and we started talking about Otakon and other conventions and such. So yeah, he was cool with it, didn't say anything to suggest there was anything wrong with this shirt.

Now, halfway through the day, the manager of the supervisory team stands behind me while I'm taking calls. I hear her say "that's inappropriate" but wasn't sure if that was aimed at me or something she heard someone say. She walks away. Next thing I know, one of the supervisors calls me up, so I go see her.

"Can you do me a huge favor?"

"Sure, what's up?"

"Can you go and turn your shirt inside-out? The back of it has a girl in a bikini, and that's not appropriate.."

She kept apologizing when she saw how upset/angry I got about this, she obviously thought this was stupid as well, but she had to do it.

Just seemed stupid, plus I'm sitting down all day, very rarely are you even going to see the back of my shirt. Out of all the shirts I've seen people wear on Fridays, I'm surprised I got in trouble for this. She didn't note it or anything, was nice about it.

The funny part about the whole thing is that HR didn't care, and they set forth those types of rules.. but she did.