So You're A Fresh Level 80, Ready To Gear And Conquer But Need Nudge On Where To Go? Read...

RSS News

Syndicated News Service
I just wrote this up to reply to someone and...maybe it can help others so, sharing it in the hopes that maybe it does. : )

EDIT: There's a quick summary and goal/milestones list at the bottom for people familiar with this dance. For total newbies to this endgame gearing thing, this first part is a more or less full walkthrough of what you need from where, including vendor names as applicable. (Also some minor typoes fixed...knew there would be SOME...) :ENDEDIT

So you're a fresh 80 and just finished ShB's wonderful MSQ and are all hyped up and wondering "Okay...so what do I do next?! How do I gear up for 5.1?!?!"

Let's get started. :D

Getting your Job gear from the blacksmith dude in the Tempest (which you SHOULD already have) will give you 430 ilevel primary pieces. That's helm, chest, gloves, pants, and boots. So to start evening things out, we'll be looking at accessories first...as they're also the most accessible drops (uh, no pun...intended [yes, yes it WAS intended... :p ]). You can get 430 belts and right side pieces (ear, neck, wrist, and ring) by running Expert roulette. At this point, MOST people are passing on the gear (or not rolling on it, which is the same thing). You also get random level VII and VIII materia from the chests and some monsters in these dungeons, which can help you get started as well.

Expert roulette requires ilevel 410 to enter, but so did the last MSQ dungeon, meaning if you're reading this, you've already met that threshhold. Note that AFTER 5.1, this will be getting a bump to accommodate the new dungeon they're adding. This will increase it to 430, so you may just be manually quing for them a couple of times to get to 425 ilevel where you can hit up Eden.