Open Letter To The Devs Regarding Eden's Verse: Reflugence [spoilers]

RSS News

Syndicated News Service
I'm just going to preface this with the admission that I do not frequent the forums much, so I don't know what it takes to get the community team's attention, but I'm just going to shoot my shot.

My name is Ariel, and I’d like to start out by saying, I’ve been playing Final Fantasy XIV since August 2013--since 2.0 launched. And in all this time, I’ve never been one to complain much about the game itself. I always try to be understanding of things like limitations of budget, time, horrendous base code, potential cultural differences corporate interference, and just the nature of trying new ideas.

That said, I think using Ryne’s head on Eden Shiva was not a good decision. Ysayle’s face would have been a better route to take. Not only would that have gotten a more powerful emotional reaction from the players when seeing Shiva again, it would make the Savage Phase 2 form more meaningful. And you would not have this literal child’s face on what appears to be an adult woman’s body, wearing outfits that start with a rather deep neckline, to one that plunges so far you might not even call it a neckline anymore, to...all of what Savage phase 2 is.

The character/monster designs and the fight design are actually really cool. But the conflict between the body design and Ryne’s face really distracts from that, and that’s a shame. For example, my own reaction to seeing that pre-fight scene upon entering the instance was, “Oooh, I want to cosplay thaaaaat’s Ryne’s baby face on cleavage [cringe].” I couldn't enjoy the fight because I was too busy thinking, "YIKES," over and over, especially on every Redress mechanic. I'm still not sure if I want to go back in or not because of how uncomfortable it made me.