My Journey Started With The Release Of Shadowbringers And Now I've Finally Reached The End....

RSS News

Syndicated News Service
My character throughout FFXIV

An album featuring the journey along with several musings about the plot and themes

I started playing FFXIV just a bit after Shadowbringers released because I kept hearing about how amazing the story was. I had my doubts, honestly. It was both an MMO and Final Fantasy hadn't been truly great since maybe FFX, and I had already played through SWTOR which had some amazing class stories that I thought this couldn't match.

For ARR, I felt mostly vindicated, thinking it was a bland fantasy story that was barely at the level of the first few Final Fantasy games. Then Heavenward came and brought the storytelling to a whole nother level and showed me that the game had heart. At that point it had beaten a few FF's in terms of story. Then Stormblood came and I felt that was aggressively mediocre in terms of story.

And then Shadowbringers came.

And I feel like it might be one of my favorite Final Fantasy games of all time, my favorite MMO, and one of my favorite RPGs in general.

This whole thing felt like an absolute loveletter.

It was a loveletter to Final Fantasy in general. As much as I love Heavensward, it felt more like a really well-done western fantasy story than a true Final Fantasy. But this was Final Fantasy in every respect. You finally got that fully formed RPG party. You got to explore so many different crazy fantasy, almost alien environments. The serious moments were broken up by levity and whimsy, like the Il Mheg exploration and the dwarves. You got the giant bombastic setpieces like riding a giant flying whale and the building of a giant fuck-you titan that reached up to God. You killed God. And you even got some of that more morally grey modern Final Fantasy with the final dungeon and Emet-Selch, who felt like Ardyn II: Electric Boogaloo.