My First Month In Ffxiv - The Coolest Mmo I've Ever Played.

RSS News

Syndicated News Service
Hello! I figured I'd share my experiences here as a new player since I've had some pretty fun experiences over my first 30-days in the game. The community in this game is one of the best I've seen, and the experiences I've had are unmatched! Most mmo's I've played I've dropped because of how immensely dull the story, world, gameplay, etc is. This one however... really resonates with me.

So, the start to my journey had me choosing a Lalafell Archer. I thought bard looked pretty cool, and down the line this was one of the best decisions I've probably made. So, I start off trying to get my feet wet in the game and start doing MSQ stuff and a few of the smaller sidequests. Eventually, my level 4 self stumbles into a level 7(i think) tree monster thing... I accidentally aggro it, and right when I'm about to die, a vet player comes along and saves me! I think they were a Lalafell Black Mage. I send them a message, and we become friends! He apparently was helping one of his friends, and sometimes he sends me a message to see how far I've gotten or helps me on any of the dungeons because those queues take 20 years.

Anyway, time passes and I start getting levels. Nothing too important happens, but I start to realize the general gameplay gist of most of the MSQ is "Go here and get this thing. OOPS, not that thing, the other thing silly!" with some combat weaved in and a dungeon every now and then. Overall though, the story is interesting enough to keep me going. I know that apparently ARR got a rework, so I can't imagine how grindy this would have been without the rework.