I'm Really, Really Bad At This Game. Now I'm Too Mortified To Go Back!

RSS News

Syndicated News Service
Hi all, throwaway because I'm embarrassed.

I started playing exactly two months ago after two years of wondering how an MMO's story was so good it was making people cry. I picked DRG (I know the jokes are writing themselves), and blazed through the MSQ. I wasn't trying to rush it, I just really enjoyed the story (I even loved ARR), and was really afraid of encountering spoilers. I haven't been doing any side content/extras/other classes, as I wanted to save those for after MSQ. I caught up to 5.4 after around 260 hours — it's a great game and I love it!

Anyway, I know what my rotation is and throughout the MSQ I made sure I looked up what it was up to that point, I knew not to run off with stack markers, don't stand in evil orange stuff, etc., and was reading my tooltips so that I wasn't being willfully obtuse. I do mess the rotation up sometimes though and find myself looking at the crossbar, and have died to mechanics/not running out of AOE's quickly enough. So I knew I wasn't great because others in my parties were doing a lot better, but no one ever said anything about how I played so I didn't think I was horrible either. I always let people know it was my first time, asked what I died to, and sometimes people gave tips/heads up about mechanics; no one's been mean though.

Fast forward to yesterday I was doing Eden Fulmination (Normal/Story), my first optional content. I thought the previous Edens were pretty darn easy but I died a few times in Fulmination. Someone in there suggested I look at a guide before I even attempt anything for the first time; I haven't been doing that because I didn't want to see spoilers, but I took it to heart and did so for Furor. It looked really tough (two of em!?) but I watched a video and thought I could handle it...