TP gain - WS Internal and External

Archain

Kitteh Paws
Here's a post I put up on another board, I'd like someone to shoot holes in this if possible...I'm still learning exactly how this works.

The extra hit Dual Wield adds is actually not external. It's added to the WS damage itself. That's why SATAVB (for example) alwayds returns 10% TP.

I don't believe this statement is totally correct. A WS like VB will get a boost in damage and a +5% TP return (like all physical WS), but non-physicals will not have the offhand weapon effect the WS in any way except for returning +5TP.

Linked Relationship
I still believe the offhand strike is external to the weaponskill itself (but linked with it) and follows external WS TP building rules. I do still believe that the actual follow-on strike itself is linked with the WS due to the fact that they occur in the same combat cycle. The screenshot above with the opponent's offhand striking through Utsusemi despite shadows remaining was my way of showing the linked relationship (the offhand did a follow-on with SA). This is the case on regular SA, but WS will not actually show the follow-on strike, but still record TP according to external WS TP building rules. This same screenshot also shows a WS (DE) without a listed offhand strike. If you perform only SA with a Kraken in the offhand, every hit of that Kraken will penetrate Utsusemi even if Utusemi shadows remain up on the target.

After WS TP Calculations
Dual wielding knives, for instance, has the following unaltered TP gain on a Dancing Edge (without triple or misses).

THF/NIN
Mainhand 5+1+1+1+1 + Offhand 5 = 14% TP gain total.

THF/WAR
Mainhand 5+1+1+1+1 = 9% TP gain total.

Dancing Edge damage remains the same, so the offhand strike is not added into the WS damage total, but is instead counted as an additional seperate offhand strike for TP calc purposes. These are counted together in the same attack round and constitute one attack cycle.