Playing on aircard thingys.

Abbylu

So I am not technically inclined...forgive the woman speak.

I'm tossing about the idea of getting one of those aircard thingys from the Verizon. I can get 5 or 10 gig/month it seems.

1. Does anyone play on those? Is it fast enough or will I be l lagged out just as bad as this hughesnet?

2. Is 5 or 10 gig enough per month for oh lets say 360 hours of ffxi?

3. Is it reasonable to think that Kul and I could both play at the same time w/ one of these things?

He has been playing the WoW, and it doesn't seem to use much, we have 350 MB/day allowance w/ the hughesnet.

5-10G should be way more than enough. I leave 2 accounts up pretty much 24x7, with daily browsing, random image thread viewing on BG, and light YouTube usage I use about 3.5GB on average. Playability is going to depend on your reception. I tried an air card about 6 months ago and ended up cancelling because the antenna was behind a hill from me and I couldn't connect unless I held my laptop out the upstairs window. I'm glad I ended up cancelling, because I got an Android with unlimited data over 3g and use it as a wireless access point for way less cash. It supports 5 devices (I'm considering canceling Comcast =D). If you have an Android or iPhone this might be more convenient and cheaper. Some providers charge for bandwidth, tethering, or enabling wireless AP, but I rooted my phone and turned on wireless AP for no additional cost.

If you decide to get one anyway and choose to use Sprint, I'll give you my air card for free and you can try to get it set up w/o a contract. Idk if you can use it with Hughesnet

What fodder said. Pretty much you just need to make sure that you would get a good signal and you should have no problems playing. You would still have a lot of problems playing if the signal isn't good though.

Now, does anyone know where we packed our discs at?