HALP! (Serious tech question inside)

Shrike

KittyX
Hi people.

If anyone cares, i've spent the last years with school full time and working 2 jobs after wasting 4 years on FFXI @.@

Fortunately, now i've got a job thats not in a sweatshop so i guess thats good. Unfortunately, the job i got is in computers until there is a spot that opens up for me in the field i studied.

Having a little knowledge about computers , they hired me to help the real technician out with extra work for a while.

Anyways, one of the task i was given was to set up a vista 64 bit machine that a whole department will use later on. The plan is to make an image then just copy/paste for easy and fast installing.

Now this is where it gets a bit more complicated. Before i started working there, some other guy setted up the computer, he installed vista 64 bit all-right, but sadly...he didn't feel it would be convenient to supply the admin password for the machine.

Now i know what you are thinking, just use the disk and reset the admin password that way. Well, during my first 3 days at this new job
...I....accidently....formatted the external drive(yea yea you can laugh :p ) that contained many set-up images...and the program needed to reset the password....

So I had to re-install vista to reset the admin password. Now! This is a Dell pc...i could manage to find the drivers on dell's site for the video card, network adaptor, and mboard chipsets and the sound card easily.

The problem is with stuff like IDE adaptors , ATAPI controllers and the sound stuff(see attached image). I checked on another machine (that is exactly like the one i am working on) the system configs to see if i was missing anything. And my computer is missing a lot of info in those section.

So does anyone know of a way to get all the right drivers, or how to make the computer i'm working on recognize the hardware it should?

Sorry, long post, long read. And i had a long day.